Visual for the concert of Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes at the SNFCC

Listen to the recorded concert as part of the Jazz Chronicles series here.

The recording will remain available on the SNFCC website.

In August 2018, Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes joined their old companions, Irene Dimopoulou and Nikos Zografos, for a retrospective celebration of their decade collaboration at the SNFCC.

Swing Shoes became popular with their début album, Ladies and Gents… Here’s The Swing Shoes (2010), introducing their unique blend of gypsy swing and traditional tunes. Ten years ago, they met Sugahspank!, and together became one of the most dynamic and prominent live acts in Athens. Their musical background lies in the blues and gospel, yet ιt is filtered through the band’s inventive spirit, and experimental energy. 

At the SNFCC concert, they feautured an extensive party-set with Irene Dimopoulou and Nikos Zografos, hot on the heels of their joint performance in Munich’s Kulturfestival Gräfelfing.


A warm thank you to the musicians of the concert:

Sugahspank!, vocals
Irene Dimopoulou, vocals
Adonis Goulielmos, guitar
Giorgos Koutras, guitar, slide guitar
Panos Tomaras, bass
Fivos Kountourakis, drums
Nikos Zografos, drums
Iakovos Krokos, harmonica


The concert featured covers and compositions by Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes:

    • Covers of traditional Greek songs
    • Fado - Traditional music from Portugal
    • Koo Koo Girl   - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • My Bird  - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Hard as Diamond - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Make it Rain - Kathleen Brennan / Thomas Alan Waits
    • Cosmic Lovebirds - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Triple Call your Name - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Diddy Wah - Willie Dixon / Ellas Mcdaniel  
    • Mountain Top - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • All of Me - Gerald Marks and Seymour Simons
    • Chasing Rabbits - Jefferson Airplane
    • Pass it on - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Say it Loud - Sugahspank! & The Swing Shoes
    • Satan (Your Kingdom Must Come Down)
    • My Babe - Little Walter
    • You got me Runnin - Jimmy Reed
    • When the Saints Go Marching In


    Sound engineer: View Master Films
    Mixing/mastering: Giorgos Mantas

    See also

    Tuesday 07/04, 20:00

    #snfccAtHome: Jazz Chronicles - Stefanos Andreadis Flying Jazz Quartet (recorded concert)