Odyssey: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center in Greece

Wednesday / April 11 / 2018

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the largest producing and presenting chamber music organization in North America, makes its debut in Greece at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center (SNFCC) with a program inspired by traditional and timeless facets of Greek culture: through the sound of the solo flute, Debussy’s Syrinx evokes the magic of Greek mythology; the festivities of Greek weddings are depicted in Ravel’s Five Melodies for Voice and Piano; the tradition of open air performance is illustrated by Beethoven’s Serenade; and finally, Mendelssohn’s classic Octet represents the same quest for symmetry and balance that produced Greece’s most iconic monuments. 

In its first ever international production, the award-winning North American television series Live From Lincoln Center will join CMS, in cooperation with ERT, to film this performance at the SNFCC.  This is the first stop on a musical journey that will take CMS to Athens, Pelion, and other places in Thessaly, to be later broadcast on public television stations in the U.S. and Canada, Greece and Cyprus.

This event is co-organized by the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center (SNFCC) and CMS, and will take place at the Alternative Stage of the Greek National Opera at the SNFCC.  Admission is free thanks to an exclusive grant from the Stavros Niarchos Foundation. 

CMS’s production around Greece is supported by an exclusive grant from the Stavros Niarchos Foundation.

Wednesday 11/04 | 20.30  


Limited number of seats due to the scheduled video recording of the event under the award-winning American series, Live From Lincoln Center.

Late seating is only possible during intermission or in the event of a pause. Pre-registration at is required.

Pre-registration will start on 04/04 at 12.00 here.

You can find here the artists' short bio.

The Lincoln Center Chamber Music society
Dmitri Atapine
Aaron Boyd
Emily D’Angelo
David Finckel
Sean Lee
Matthew Lipman
Paul Neubauer
Tara Helen O’Connor
Arnaud Sussmann
Danbi Um
Wu Han